Canadian Visa

Are you Eligible for a Canada Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)?

Posted in News

Starting March 15, 2016 citizens of countries eligible to enter Canada without a tourist visa will need to apply online for an eTA prior to traveling to Canada. The eTA application process is simple and you can apply from the comfort of your own home. In order to determine if you are eligible and to minimize the risk of having your application denied it is important to note the following:

Canadian Visa

Only citizens of countries that can currently travel without a visa to Canada are eligible.

The list of countries eligible include: Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Brunei, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turks and Caicos, United Kingdom, Vatican City.

United States citizens are exempt from a Canada eTA but U.S. Green Card Holders are not

United States citizens are exempt from having to apply for an eTA.  United States Permanent Residents (Green Card holders) are required to apply for an eTA.

United States ESTA holders cannot use it for Canada

The U.S. ESTA authorization cannot be used for travel to Canada.  Each traveler must apply for a separate Canadian eTA prior to traveling to Canada.

Custom BorderYou must meet certain economic and security considerations

In order to apply for a Canadian eTA certain considerations are taken into account including your employment information, the funds available for your trip to Canada and if you have a criminal record.  Having a criminal record is grounds for automatic denial of an eTA.  Not being employed does not necessarily disqualify an applicant.

An eTA approval does not guarantee entry into Canada

An electronic travel authorization (eTA) allows you to travel to Canada but approval for entry to Canada is solely at the discretion of an immigration officer at the port of entry in Canada.  If an immigration officer determines that your visit is not for tourism or business purposes he or she can decide that entry is refused and you will not be allowed entry.

Certain illnesses can lead to a denial of your eTA

In order to be eligible to visit Canada you must be in good health.  Certain diseases such as tuberculosis will make you ineligible to visit Canada.